Plenty of action at Long Flat Campdraft 2018

Friday afternoon kicked off with Ben Clarke in the judges seat for the Peter Muddle Memorial Novice Campdraft which was ran in conjunction with the Porters Sawmilling Encouragement Campdraft.

About half of the 302 runs were put through before dark on the first day of competition, with the remaining competitors having their chance to show their style on Saturday morning.

Peter Grills and Lipstick were the best in the Novice after round 1 with 89 points, followed by Dennis Hawkins on Loppy with an 88, while Jeff Lowrey and Lethal won the top cutout.

The Encouragement was won by David Coombes on Angie with 80 points and the biggest smile you’ve ever seen, followed by Katrina Stubbs in 2nd place on Boleen with 78 points.

Equal 3rd was shared between Craig Rosten on Sweet Play Suzi Q and Jo Butler on Special both scoring 22 while 5th was shared between Abby McMurrich in Rebound Lace, Alison Carey on Sonny, Kyla Fowler with Maverick, Elise Patterson on Instant Cruze, Tim Laurie on Delta and Kathy Aquilina aboard Duracks Jewel.

The Ladies Campdraft saw 125 entrants put their best foot forward for judge Wayne Edwards.

Christine Jones had a brilliant round on Alibi to earn her the top cutout with a 23 and the blue ribbon with 88 points along with trophies from Kelly Country Clothing and Bruce Coultard.

In equal second place was Ann Sant on Badger and Kyra O’Brien on Miette both scoring 82, while equal fourth was Jess Wickham on Ruby and Nicky Stevens on Goldenspurs Tailormade.

On with the FG Noakes Memorial Juvenile Campdraft with Dean Wood cracking the whip on the 44 youngsters.

The ever consistent local girl Ann Porter finally collected her first blue ribbon being the only entrant to get an outside score, riding Doc’s Girl to receive the Jeff Noakes sponsored prize.

In second place and winner of the Pat Henry sponsored top cutout was Tully Guest riding Oaks Cache with a 22, while equal third was shared amongst Emmy Lou Steger on Lady Chisum, Nicholas Murray on Ela Miss Muffit, Kelsey Kennedy on Fergie, Chloe Guy on Mac and Millie Tarrant with Odds Shortcut.

Josh Farrawell rode very well and was awarded the Wauchope Saddlery sponsored Encouragement Award.

By this stage the Junior competitors were chomping at the bit for their turn in the Hugh Campbell Memorial Junior Campdraft with Wayne Edwards back in the judges seat.

Jess Murray with Ela Glimmer collected their second win in 2 weeks and also collected the Pat Henry sponsored cutout prize with 22 points.

Equal second was shared amongst Lachlan Corrigan on Reflection, Linc McCarthy with Coyote, Laicy Costigan on Stubby, Clancy Prior on Sherlock, Nicholas Edwards on Ellie May, Phoebe Stubbs on Boleen, Chase Rosten with Sweet Play Suzi Q, Ellie D’Elboux on Maree and Jenson Shields on Fuse all scoring 21 points.

The Wauchope Saddlery Encouragement Award was won by Zac Moore.

The Jackpot Restricted Open saw some great drafting under the watchful eye of judge Dean Wood. Penny Macintosh on Dancer showed the boys how to earn a blue ribbon with a 90 point round, while John Corrigan on Susies Cdees and Darren Brislane in Trumby weren’t far behind both scoring 89.

That wrapped up the drafting for the day, just in the nick of time for the junior sporting events to be snuck in before it was too dark, then it was down to the Travellers Rest Hotel for the well supported Calcutta on the Novice Final which gathered just over $4000 into the pool by talented auctioneer Mr John Corrigan.

Sunday morning started off with round one Travellers Rest Hotel Maiden A Campdraft with the whip in the hands of Wayne Edwards.

After the 125 runs, Tim McCarthy and Coyote were looking good with a 90 but Darren Sutherland aboard Connie weren’t letting them get too far ahead with an 88 and winning the top cutout prize. Wauchope RSL Maiden B round one was the next event, this time with Bruce Coulthard in charge.

Local lad Tom Porter and Hotrod with 86 were at the top of the ladder heading for the final but Jackson Noon on Making Music and Ben McNaughton on Recent weren’t far away. Tony Jones aboard Taffy Cat collected the top cutout prize.

Round one of the Wauchope Stock and Estate Agents P/L sponsored John Henry Memorial Open Campdraft saw Ben Clarke cracking the whip 109 times.

Alan Sinclair aboard One Moore Pleasure had a superb round scoring 91 points, while Tim McCarthy on Hot As Hell and Carl Green on Bushy were hot on his heels with 90 points each. Tim and Hot As Hell also had the highest cutout score of the weekend with 24 points!

Onto the finals where Darren Sutherland and Connie were first out in the Travellers Rest Hotel Maiden A final and they set the pace with a total of 173 points to lead the way to the pay window for a well deserved win.

Equal second was shared between Tim McCarthy on Coyote and Jared Dennes on Rocco, both scoring 171, Fred Paterson on Thunder were 4th on 170 and Jane Stanton on Swervin Mervin came in 5th on 167 points.

Wauchope RSL Maiden B final saw Graham Pinkstone on Whitney in first place with 171 points, collecting the handmade set of spurs donated by Keith Coombes Custom Saddles and Eagle Insurance Brokers, followed by Tom Porter on Hotrod with 166 points, equal 3rd was shared between Charlene Dixon on Zanadoo and Ben McNaughton with Recent on 163, while Jane Stanton finished the lineup again with Baystar on 160 points.

After the Wauchope Stock and Estate Agents P/L sponsored John Henry Memorial Open Campdraft final a 3 way runoff was required between Ian Argue on Pretty Boy, Carl Green on Bushy and Cliff Lyon on Sandy who were all on 176 points.

Ian Argue added a further 86 points to his tally to seal the win on 262, collecting the embroidered rug donated by Embroidery 4 and Scott Reynolds Equine Dentistry while Carl Green ended up 2nd on 198 and Cliff Lyon 3rd on 193.

Tony Mortimer on Ghost of Abby were 4th on 173 points and equal 5th was shared between Emma Burges on Smudge and Wayne Murray on Ela Nancy, both scoring 171 points.

Also making news: