Wauchope Bonny Hills Surf Life Saving Club celebrates successful 2018/19 season at awards night

The Wauchope Bonny Hills Surf Life Saving Club has ended another successful patrolling and competition season with its annual presentation night.

The event was held at the surf clubhouse on May 25.

The top award, the Chalkie Bob Smith club person of the year, went to Jeremy Bate and Gayl Ellis.

Jeremy's award follows a extraordinary level of club service over a number of years.

He was acknowledged as being a superb surfer, lifesaver and mentor to anyone seeking surf advice or assistance.

He is patrol captain of Jez's Young Guns, one of the most diligent and proficient patrols.

Jeremy competed 48.5 hours patrolling and water safety and as everyone knows probably four times that number of hours as our club's functions director. In this directorship Jeremy is responsible for 'Beaches Bar and Function Centre'. Beaches is the primary source of income for the club.

Jeremy is also a fantastic competitor; this season being tasting success at the Coollangatta Gold and being a finalist at NSW Country Championships.

Gayl joined the club a few seasons ago and has thrown herself into club involvement and life at an incredible rate.

Gayl is patrol vice-captain of Patrol # 10 Muscles Kee, completing 47 patrolling hours. Gayl is also the designated IRB Driver for her patrol.

Gayl is also a director of the club and has responsibility for our nippers, a task she has performed with distinction, seeing healthy increases in our nipper numbers.

Gayl has taken a very keen and committed interest in surfsports competition. Incredibly after having only learnt to paddle a surf ski some 18 months ago, Gayl was successful in winning a medal in the over 40 female ski relay at the World Championships as well as picking up bling at NSW State and Australian Championships.

Gayle is also a driving force behind some of our fundraising efforts, provided water safety for the Port Macquarie Triathlon and is a surfsport official.

In other awards, Nathan O'Brien was named the rookie of the year while Elaine Walker picked up the coveted Allan Barlin Shield for surf sports athlete of the year, masters athlete of the year and club surf craft competitor of the year.

Club beach competitor of the year was jointly awarded to Keith Charles and George Fowler while the club swim competitor of the year was Hugh Stewart.

The Grahame Buckley Memorial surf boat rower of the year was Grace Monaghan and the Dan Roods Memorial Trophy for boat crew of the year went to the U19 girls crew, The Boatettes, Jesse Willis, Emma Eggins, Grace Monaghan, Lucy Monaghan and sweep Steve Monaghan.

The Simon Stennett Memorial Trophy for young surf boat rower of the year went to Lucy Monaghan.

Bob and Lyn Smith were presented with an award for service to the club and recycling efforts.

The u15 club person of the year was Reeve Anderson and Jasper Schultz.

U17 club person of the year, Chayce Anderson and Grace Kuhnell.

The Eric Saunders Memorial Shield for u19 club person of the year, Hugh Stewart and Jesse Willis.

Trainer of the year, Paul Hoole, surf sports coach of the year, Steve Monaghan and the team of the year was the u19 girls crew, The Boatettes.

Leanne Goggin was named administrator of the year while young life saver of the year went to Jasper Schultz and young athlete of the year to Chayce Anderson.

Gayl Ellis was named surf sports official of the year while Peter Alchin was named the volunteer of the year.

The Claude Cassegrain Perpetual Trophy for highest patrol hours went to Peter Alchin with 83.5 hours and Bronwen Davidson with 82.5 hours.

The Rex Clark Memorial Shield for outstanding Patrol was patrol 1 - Steve Robinson, Callum Johnston, Mark Bell, Michael Woolnough, Bronwen, Carissa and Annelyse Davidson, Benita Seymour and Matt Lees.

The Davidson family were also named the family patrol of the year.

The club's annual meeting is scheduled for Sunday July 28.

What else is making news: