Janette Hyde wins award at 2019 NSW Tourism Awards

Janette Hyde has worked tirelessly over many years to ensure the greater Port Macquarie-Hastings region remains a strong tourism hub.

The Greater Port Macquarie Tourism Association president's commitment has seen her recognised at the NSW Tourism Awards. She was awarded the Dean Goddard Award for outstanding contribution by an individual.

The awards were on Thursday, November 14 where Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail, NRMA Port Macquarie Breakwall Holiday Park, Macquarie Waters Boutique Apartment Hotel and Telegraph Retreat Cottages also scooped the awards in their respective fields.

Mrs Hyde described the recognition on a state level as an ultimate achievement.

She said her greatest contributions over the years couldn't have been achieved without the solid network stemmed from the Greater Port Macquarie Tourism Association.

Mrs Hyde has been president of the association for the last 11 years.

She said bringing local events to the greater Port Macquarie-Hastings region has been instrumental in building tourism for the region.

Mrs Hyde thanked her contacts in the tourism industry and the Port Macquarie-Hastings Council.

"I couldn't have done it without their support," she said.

Mrs Hyde congratulated the other four local award winners and said it was a fantastic achievement to be recognised on a state level.

Earlier this year Mrs Hyde was named as the 2019 Citizen of the Year at the Port Macquarie-Hastings Australia Day Awards.

With a track record of community work for over 40 years, Janette's contributions are numerous.

She is a member of the Port Macquarie Chamber of Commerce, Food & Wine Tourism Taskforce, Bravehearts and president of the Greater Port Macquarie Tourism Association and a member for 33 years.

Janette has been a supporter of Panthers for many years and was instrumental in the NSW State Touch Competition coming to and remaining to be held in Port Macquarie for over 30 years.

Janette's work in developing and keeping that event led to the Junior State Cup also being held here, attracting competitors, visitors and local crowds of 17,000 to the event.

Member for Port Macquarie Leslie Williams congratulated all those who achieved accolades at the NSW Tourism Awards.

Mrs Williams said receiving recognition at the NSW Tourism Awards is well- deserved acknowledgment of the Port Macquarie region's excellent tourism offerings.

"Tourism is an important industry for our region and these accolades recognise the incredible work and expertise of those in our community and also raises the profile of the region as a whole," she said.

Port Macquarie-Hastings Council director Jeffery Sharp congratulated local winners and all finalists in this year's awards.

"Our local tourism operators work really hard in an extremely competitive tourism market, and have really raised the bar in showcasing the breadth and quality of local tourism offerings.

"Janette has made such a valuable contribution to the industry over many years, and the recognition of her commitment to supporting the development of the industry is very well-deserved," said Mr Sharp.

The awards are managed by the Tourism Industry Division of the NSW Business Chamber and supported by the NSW Government via its tourism and major events agency Destination NSW.

The 2019 NSW Tourism Awards featured 27 categories, including tourist attractions, festivals and events, ecotourism, new tourism business, destination marketing, accommodation and excellence in accessible tourism.

Local winners will now progress to the Qantas Australian Tourism Awards at Canberra in March.

For a full list of this year's winners, visit www.nswtourismawards.com